Skip to content

American Teacher

January 15, 2014

I’m home sick today and have spent quite a bit of time watching various Netflix movies. American Teacher hit home for so many reasons. Featuring a myriad of big names in the education policy world and focusing on the lives of four high-quality teachers, this documentary highlights the necessity of increasing teacher salaries and improving public perceptions of the teaching career.

I have many thoughts about my return to the classroom next year and how I will (or most likely won’t) make ends meet with my newly-accrued student loan debt. Harvard ain’t cheap, y’all. I also connected with several of the story lines in the movie, particularly from my experiences growing up as the daughter of a teacher and my family’s struggles with that.

Some of the evidence cited is a bit dubious, but this is well-presented argument overall. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in the future of the teaching profession.

Watch it here: http://movies.netflix.com/Movie/American-Teacher/70212953

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

