Skip to content

Crushing the Stress

May 9, 2012

So, I’ve been a little MIA lately, and with good reason.  You may remember last year’s bout with the mystery illness.  After a couple months of shortness of breath, fatigue, chest pains, and more, I was certain that I was suffering from heart disease at the ripe age of 25.  Fortunately, in the end, I was suffering from nothing more than a severe case of standardized test-induced STRESS.  Seriously.  I was so stressed about last year’s tests that I because physically, mentally, and emotionally ill.

Since I’m not really one to let things get the best of me, I decided to really take the bull by the horns this year and give myself something else to focus on during standardized test season.  Enter the St. Jude Country Music Half Marathon.

I ran it.  Not only did I run it, I owned it literally in the middle of our standardized test.  The kids tested Wednesday-Friday, I ran Saturday, and they tested again on Monday.  We all had a little (big) celebration on Monday when it was all over and we had all conquered our goals.

So, this mission has been accomplished.  And now that I no longer have to wake up for 5am training runs, I’ll revert back to my ways of eating late-night ice cream and blogging about teaching.

Proof.

Proof.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

