Skip to content

I Love…..Math?

August 29, 2011

It’s no secret that I identify myself as a reading teacher.  My interest level, knowledge base, and comfort zone with the teaching of reading make it a large part of my professional identity.  At the same time, I love everything about teaching in a self-contained classroom that allows me the privileges of teaching every subject and working to integrate them.  This opportunity has brought me to a new realization…I love teaching math, too.

We’ve been working on fractions since school started (more on that tomorrow), and it has been quite the eye-opening experience for me.  The students are using fraction kits to make their own discoveries about fractions, their relationships, and how to manipulate them.  They have gotten to make fraction equivalency posters and play all sorts of fraction games.

The best part of all this for me has been seeing the students’ understanding grow rapidly.  They can add fractions, subtract them, and turn them into mixed numbers.  And we haven’t even talked about the algorithms yet!  With these fraction kits, I can see the students’ understanding grow unlike anything I’ve seen before.  It’s a growth that is almost tangible.  When it happens, I feel great.  They feel great.  It’s like one big party where we’re all smart!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 8:34 am

    yes! i love to hear that you are allowing students to explore mathematical ideas without just giving them algorithms. when you love a subject, it shows… your students are lucky to have you! maybe they won’t be so math-phobic when they get to me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

