Skip to content

Happy Thoughts

August 8, 2011

The school year is about to begin, and I’ve never been so reluctant.  Between my grandfather’s death and numerous trips around the country, my summer “break” has been nothing of the sort.  It’s been a summer of mixed emotions, for sure.

One thing I have come to realize this summer, though, is how lucky I am to have this job.

When I say I love every second of teaching, I mean it.  I love when a student hugs me and says, “Thank you”.  I love it when I see their reading levels increase rapidly.  Yes, I even love it when I get cussed at and when a lesson crashes.

I find it very easy to get caught up in the stress, gripes, and hardships.  Each day is a challenge…so what?  That’s what I signed up for, and that’s what I love.

My goal for this upcoming year it to shift my focus from those challenges and start really looking at the successes in my classroom.  I love looking back at the times when something goes right.  The problem for me is that I don’t focus on those times enough.

Want to know what shifted my thinking?  Take a look at these two articles:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

