Skip to content

Play Ball

July 12, 2011

“Programs! Programs! Get ya programs!”

“Peanuts! Water! Ice cold, ice cold!”

Children’s squeals of delight cut through the advertisements hollered by vendors.  Holding my ticket out to be scanned and walking through the turnstyle, I know I have arrived at my favorite place in the world.

We quickly make our way to our seats.  There’s simply no time for us to make a concession stand pit stop.  I’m leading the way, fearful of missing my favorite parts of the game.

Smiling at the strangers and saying our obligitory “excuse me” as we climb over them, we find our seats and settle into them.  I take a moment to again revel in the surrounding sounds, similar to those that greeted us on the plaza.  Now, you can smell the leather, grass, sweat, and BBQ.  I think to myself, “Now THIS is how a ballpark should be.”

“Please rise and remove your caps.  Join our organist Dave Ramsey as he plays our National Anthem.”

The players line the first and third base lines, caps held loosely over their hearts.  My dad shows off his smooth tenor to the surrounding fans as he proudly sings along.

With the end of the National Anthem, my heart skips a beat, my patriotism fired up.  I also know that my second favorite part of the game is only seconds away.

As the first pitch is unleashed and pops into the catcher’s mitt, I revel in the moment.  There is simply nowhere I’d rather be.

Note: This is part of the Slice of Life Story challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  Head on over there to find other teachers writing to improve their craft, as well as great ideas about teaching writing.


6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 8:41 pm

    I loved the fifth paragraph down. The obligatory excuse-me’s and the smell of leather and grass. So strong in sensory details! I felt like I was there.

  2. July 12, 2011 9:06 pm

    You’ve painted a clear picture with your words. My favorite paragraph is the last. I can just see that ball traveling to the catcher’s mitt. I hope you get to enjoy many more games.

  3. July 12, 2011 11:40 pm

    You’ve made me want to go right now. I like the memory you brought out of that sound of the ball hitting the mitt. It’s like ‘thwack’ or something, nothing else like it. Thanks for the good words.

  4. July 13, 2011 1:25 pm

    The singing of the National Anthem is one of my favorites too. Nothing beats the sound of hundreds of Americans belting out their patriotism. I hope it was a good game!

  5. July 14, 2011 7:16 am

    That reminds me…I want to go to the game! My dad used to buy up a number of SeaDogs tickets and then not be able to go to them, so he’d hand them out to his grown kids and treat us to a day of baseball. I should do that again. Thanks for reminding me so well!

  6. July 14, 2011 7:58 am

    I love the way you captured the sensory details of a baseball park. I could feel your excitement and almost smell the popcorn in the air. What a great slice! MaryHelen

Leave a Reply

