Skip to content

Corn Dog Day

May 17, 2011

“It’s Corn Dog Day!!” the students scream at me as I enter the din-filled cafeteria to retrieve them following my ever-shortening lunch break.  They practically bombard me, each of them wanting to be the first to say the sweet words they know I long to hear.  It’s no secret that I love Corn Dog Day.

I shoot a knowing look to Andrew, my trustworthy Corn Dog Getter.  He nods, indicating that he would love nothing more than to be dismissed from 5 minutes of class to go back and get me a corn dog.

We take our post-lunch bathroom break, and then head to the room.  Students sit quietly as I write the check for $1.50 (lack of cash ain’t stopping me from that corn dog!) before handing it over to Andrew.  I ask him if he’s clear on his task, and he reassures me, “Don’t breathe on it, right Ms. C?”  This kid’s smart–he knows the drill.

I release some students for a locker break, passing the time until my beloved lunch arrives.  When it does, Andrew has covered it with a napkin and is holding it at arm’s length from his body.  He passes it to me as he reaffirms that he didn’t breathe on it.  Not even a little bit.  As I take my first bite, I know that the rest of the day can only be wonderful.  After all, it’s Corn Dog Day.

Note: This is part of the Slice of Life Story challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  Head on over there to find other teachers writing to improve their craft, as well as great ideas about teaching writing.


8 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth G. permalink
    May 17, 2011 8:06 pm

    “Don’t breathe on it!” I had to laugh out loud. I can just see the focus on his face. I have a friend who is the same way with turkey and gravy at our school. It’s crazy how certain foods can set the mood for the day. Don’t ever let lack of cash keep you from enjoying your corn dog day. 😉

  2. May 17, 2011 8:19 pm

    Oh-yum. Our school doesn’t ever have them; I’m jealous. You told it so masterfully, and ‘don’t breathe on it’ is certainly the best line. Your students must love this task!

  3. Christy permalink
    May 17, 2011 8:21 pm

    Your voice is so strong in this slice! I smiled the whole way through. I would be happy to be a corn dog getter for you too, after hearing the sheer joy it brings…and I would promise not to breathe on it!

  4. May 17, 2011 8:23 pm

    Bahaha! Your post made me belly laugh! First of all, the title got me right away and then the line about writing the check – FUNNY! Really enjoyed your slice. 🙂

  5. May 17, 2011 9:14 pm

    Would you believe I’ve never tasted a corn dog in my entire life. If I weren’t on a post-baby diet right now, I think I’d go out and try one tomorrow!

  6. May 17, 2011 10:26 pm

    Yummmm, I love corn dogs! But where’s the mustard? You can’t have corn dogs without mustard!

  7. Lisa permalink
    May 18, 2011 8:12 pm

    I love corn dogs too! Kids are so funny. I think their enjoyment makes the corn dog day even better. And the $1.50 cheque…that’s funny! You need an emergency “corn dog fund” in a ziploc bag in your desk. I have a similar “ice cream day fund”. 🙂

  8. May 18, 2011 8:35 pm

    I have to echo Elizabeth. I loved “Don’t breathe on it”. I also laughed at your description of the napkin-wrapped Corn Dog held at arm’s length. I have to confess that I have never had a corn dog either.

Leave a Reply

