Skip to content

Lost

May 10, 2011

I climbed the mountain for what seemed to be the sixth or seventh time in the past hour.  Who even knew middle Tennessee had mountains?  This thing was huge, and whoever had made the path saw no reason to just stay at one elevation.

Out of breath, I finally made it to what appeared to be my original destination.  Unfortunately, the sign here simply informed me that I had another 2.8 miles to go.  2.8 MILES!!!  My grand total mileage was supposed to be less than that!

I glanced at the sky to observe the sun beginning to disappear beyond the horizon.  “Girlfriend better get herself in gear,” is all I could think.  The sun wasn’t going to cease setting just to provide a lost girl with some sunlight.  Despite the blisters rapidly forming on the bottoms of my feet, I forced them to keep moving.  The blaring music helped my motivation, but not my confidence in being unstartled by a passerby or rogue woodland animal.

As I ran, I contemplated a variety of topics: cloud types, who EM and HR really are (they apparently *heart* each other, or so the carving on the tree says), my father’s cell phone number, which cardinal direction I’m headed in, distance to the nearest payphone, the sleeping habits of squirrels….in short, my mind never stopped going.  I suppose that’s really the best part of all this.

As my nervousness skyrocketed, there appeared my consolation: the boys running with headlamps.  They passed me not once, but twice, as I was clearly not running up to their speed.  Somewhere in the midst of my racing thoughts, I convinced myself that these stranger boys with luminescent headgear would lead me to safety should I not make it out before sunset.

My pride was thankful when I arrived at the actual end of the trail still breathing and with uncramped muscles (imagine the embarrassment if I had been left to depend on those aforementioned strangers).

When it was all said and done, I had traveled further than I had ever done to date.  We can chalk it up to a job well done, but I do know one thing for certain.  I’m never doing this again unless there’s a boy scout by my side.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 10:13 pm

    You really showed us the feelings, especially when you wrote about your thoughts-racing, racing. I love that it didn’t show panic, just perseverance and determination-right? Congrats on making it so far!

  2. May 11, 2011 7:35 am

    Glad it worked out and you survived. The details of your thoughts really brought out your nervousness. I know how scary it is when your surroundings aren’t matching to what your brain thought it should be.

Leave a Reply

