Skip to content

Resolution [Steven]

January 11, 2011

This entry is the final part of a multi-part story.  You can find the first posts herehere, and here.

The students had been dropped off at lunch, and Steven and I were walking down the hallway to my classroom in silence.  I kept sucking in breaths to keep myself from letting my emotions show before we re-entered my classroom.  Believe me though–as soon as I sat down at my desk, it was all over.

Steven wrung his hands, elbows rested on his knees as he nervously waited for me to speak.  I let him wait.

Finally, I essentially whispered, “I don’t even know what to say….I was shocked and really sad to find out you would do that to me, especially after how much I’ve gone out of my way to help you.”

Steven finally looked up and a tear rolled down his face.  He never said anything, just looked at me and cried quietly.  In fact, the first time he spoke was after we both stood up to leave.  I asked if he had anything he wanted to say, to which he replied, “Can I have a hug?”

I walked him down to our School Resource Officer’s room so they could talk, although I had made it clear to him I wasn’t looking to get Steven in anymore trouble.  Our one-sided conversation made it clear to me that he was truly sorry for doing something that disappointed me.

This was the next-to-last day Steven attended our school.  As it turned out, he had also stolen jewelry from his Grandmother, who decided she had enough and needed to send him back to his home state.

Steven called me that summer.  He informed me that he had been sent back to jail for a little while, and was back out now.  He was still in the 4th grade, although his 13th birthday had come and gone.  It’s safe to say this student has had a greater effect on me than any other.  In the end, he still needed to be taught, cared for, and led in the right direction.  He changed the way I view my students.

Note: This is part of the Slice of Life Story challenge hosted by Two Writing Teachers.  Head on over there to find other teachers writing to improve their craft, as well as great ideas about teaching writing.


3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 12:15 am

    oh the students that stick with us – in the pockets of our hearts, mmm

  2. January 12, 2011 5:59 am

    Wow, Ashely, what an ending. I just have to ask (although I think I know the answer in my heart), did you hug him?
    Keep touching lives, even though it hurts sometimes,
    Ruth

    • January 12, 2011 9:15 am

      Ruth,
      I most definitely hugged him. That might even be the part that had the biggest impact on me.

Leave a Reply

