Skip to content

Immunity

December 20, 2010

I once took pride in my strong immune system.  Seriously, I never got sick.  Like ever.  I gave credit for this to the children I am constantly surrounded by.  They have all the little germs and my body found the way to build up strength against them.

However, it seems like the longer I teach, the more susceptible I am to nasty, nasty illnesses.  Last year, it was The Swine and now I’m shut in with strep throat.  I don’t get sick often, but when I do…look out!  These are the times I most wish my mommy was living downstairs and could bring me what I needed at the ring of the bell.  The diet of garlic mashed potatoes and Burger King milkshakes I enjoyed after having my wisdom teeth out sounds pretty spectacular right now.

But, alas, I’m a grown up now and am left on my own to argue with the pharmacist over the timeliness of prescription-filling and remind the doctor that I am, in fact, allergic to penicillin (so a shot of that would likely make me feel worse than I already do).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

