Skip to content

Berry-ation

November 4, 2010

Today, we’re doing yet another practice writing prompt.  I mean, I want the kids to pass and all, but if they are tired writing like I am tired of hearing about Brett Favre, they’re going to do what I do and just boycott.  That would certainly not be good for the scores…

Though I am learning to dread the practice prompts, we still prepare for them as if they were some sort of World Cup match.  Yesterday, as we were doing Writer’s Workshop, I ran across some interesting pieces of writing.  Here’s how one conversation went:

Ms. C: I notice that you varied the length of your sentences.  You had one long one and then two short ones.  That’s something good writers do.  You are good at this!

B: Huh?  You think I ‘m good at writing?

Ms. C:  Well, yeah!  You are varying your sentences, which is a big deal.

L (sitting next to B):  Ms. C!  How do you bury a sentence? 

And, yes, they are in the 5th grade.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 8:24 am

    I would love to be a fly on the wall in your classroom…

  2. December 14, 2010 1:32 pm

    That is too funny! The things they come up with…

Leave a Reply

