Skip to content

Pop Culture

August 18, 2010

Today, my students kicked off their day with a 30 minute long practice writing prompt.  Our state administers a writing assessment in the spring of our students’ 5th grade year, and the students prepare for it all year long.  For them to be prepared, we practice.  And then we discuss.  And then we practice again.  And then we discuss and teach.  And then we practice again.  And then we….well, you get the idea.

Fifth graders are asked to write a narrative in response to a prompt they are given.  Today’s practice prompt asked them to write about an imaginary place they would like to visit.  I didn’t have the opportunity to read many of their responses, but one I did read was an absolute gem.

It was about visiting Atlanta (note to student:  Atlanta is a real place.  Not imaginary at all.) and staying at “the hotel motel Holiday Inn”.

I wish I was kidding.  But I had to laugh.  Don’t lie–you laughed too!

And don’t worry–I have only had my students two days, so we’ll be working on this.  In the student’s defense, his actual writing wasn’t too shabby!  We will just have to tone down the pop culture references and be sure to read the prompt more carefully.

P.S. Bonus points if you can name that song.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    August 18, 2010 6:22 pm

    Our prompt was tell a story about a friend. Aside from the student who wrote a combination of u’s and o’s and t’s and s’ I had 2 who copied the prompt exactly, several who wrote My friend is ____, and couple who wrote my friend lives next dor to my hows. The rest had similar ideas. We will be working on the concept of a “story” with my little first graders. They did better that day during writer’s workshop when we wrote about our families. 🙂 so maybe not all is lost.

  2. August 18, 2010 7:53 pm

    Just so you know, I read this post this morning during pathology lecture (whoops…). While I was supposed to be learning about neoplasia, I instead was singing “Hotel Motel Holiday Inn” to myself. Everyone needs a bit of Pitbull at 8 am to get the day started off right…right?

Leave a Reply

