Skip to content

Day One

August 17, 2010

Day one is in the books!  We managed to prevent falling tears and broken dreams.  My fifth graders dream about lockers like I dream of wedding Joe Mauer (except their dream will be realized).  We’ll climb that mountain tomorrow.

Last year, the first day resulted in numerous tears, a few scolding remarks, and a couple of grey hairs.  This time around, I was determined to make things run more smoothly.  From having name tents on their desks to explicitly teaching procedures using the Time to Teach Teach-To’s, the day flew by!

A good read aloud thrown in there allowed me to feel as though I am not completely ignoring all academic tasks.  Kevin Henkes’ Wemberly Worried is an all-time favorite and a great read aloud.  The young mouse Wemberly worries about everything in her life (and I do mean everything!).  But the thing she worries most about is school.  Like any good children’s book, all is well in the end, and my students easily identify with the main character.  Her worries about school are the exact emotions they are experiencing as they begin their middle school years.  They also really enjoy closely examining the detailed pictures and discovering bits of irony and humor that are right up the alley of these pre-teens!  Who says you can’t read picture books to middle schoolers?

That was my main joy for the day–being able to share my excitement for reading with my new students.  Many of them seemed enthusiastic and I am excited about the rest of the year with them.

For now, it’s off to dream about pencil sharpeners and locker combinations (three times to the right, pass the number to the left, turn right…).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 7:27 am

    I am glad that your first day went well. For me it seems like each year just keeps getting better since I have a better idea of the full picture that comes with experience. It sounds like you are off to a great start.

    • Ashley C. permalink*
      August 17, 2010 10:09 pm

      I am certainly hoping that this year is smoother than the first two!

  2. August 17, 2010 5:52 pm

    Oh my gosh. I’m in med school and I still dream of lockers. I actually proposed to some people the other day that we have “cubbies” in our classroom…I’m sick of toting the sweatshirt I need to keep from becoming an ice cube to and from the classroom! I’m glad the first day went well, and I love that you’re reading to them! Keep it up! Miss you!

  3. Rachel permalink
    August 17, 2010 7:00 pm

    YAY first day! I also read wemberly worried…it is a first day read every year. 🙂

  4. August 17, 2010 10:23 pm

    I need to read about Wemberley to myself. I go back to work tomorrow but my first day is an all day training. I hope I have the stamina to sit upright for 6 hours – with no recess, and no read aloud.

  5. jen permalink
    August 17, 2010 11:37 pm

    Yay for read aloud on the first day of school! No better time to get the kids excited about literacy than their first day back when EVERYTHING is exciting! 🙂

  6. August 18, 2010 5:50 am

    You are off for another year. Happy New Year Ashley. Have you read the Book Whisperer about student reading? I’m with it now. Great!
    Bonnie

  7. August 18, 2010 6:50 am

    I love reading about “First Days” and I loved reading about yours! Have a great year!

Leave a Reply

