Skip to content

Question

August 11, 2010

Why am I so much better at writing in the mornings?

It’s currently 10:30pm and I was hoping to get tomorrow’s post written and ready to go before the dawn breaks.  However, that last episode of So You Think You Can Dance paired with yet another 12 hour work day has zapped my brain.

I suppose I know the answer to my own question:  I’m better at writing in the morning because I my mind is clear and I don’t feel as though I’ve been run over by a Mack truck.

My students must experience some similar feelings at certain times during the day.  I have vivid recollections of the post-lunch drowsiness that always struck during Mrs. O’s 8th grade English class.  Even more recently, I just today experienced the “after lunch nods” at a training session–not because the session was boring and uninformative (quite the opposite, in fact), but because my tummy was full, happy, and ready to rest.

I wonder how I can help relieve these “lull” times for my students?  Perhaps I will dream up some great ideas tonight….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

