Skip to content

Six Word Memoirs

June 21, 2010

Recently, I’ve been struggling a bit to find some good words.  You know, the kind that remind me to keep on truckin even when I’m bored to tears?  The kind that remind me why I smile and laugh when being cursed at by whippersnappers?  The kind of words that inspire me to do what I want, when I want, because I want to do it?

I think I’ve found the book that will (temporarily) bring an end to this struggle.

It’s called Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure and it will be my next purchase (even before those sunglasses and shoes that have been calling my name for weeks).

The premise is pretty cool:  writers submitted their own memoirs in six words.  In looking through some of them online, they range from slightly offensive to profoundly insightful.

Can’t wait to get my hands on this one!

P.S. I tried writing myself a six-word memoir, but I’m just not feeling particularly creative tonight.  Here’s what I came up with:

I am awesome.  Don’t forget it. —Ashley C.

Pretty good, huh?

Oh, and P.P.S You had better believe this will be a project for my little budding writers come August!


One Comment leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 11:31 pm

    champion of life. follower of dreams. -Anne S.

Leave a Reply

